>Holy Rabbits and Bats…man!

22 May

>Scene 1:

So when the power went out at the beginning of the month due to the crazy tornadoes, it seems that it was not only people who got displaced from the effects of the storm – so were some Red Ear Slider turtles.  After the storm it appears they were blown in from the nearby wetlands and ended up on the concrete in front of my apartment!  Jackpot.  Free turtles.  They’ve got their own little habitat (thanks James and Mom!) and are enchanting to watch when they fight over little freeze-dried shrimp (scrimps) and while sunning themselves on their shell-on-a-rock.

Scene 2:

So I’m at work, sitting at my desk, minding my own business…when SMACK – it sounded like someone throws a rotten vegetable at the back floor to ceiling wall of glass, or so I thought.  When I ran over to see what the heck had happened, I saw a full-on bird print on the window pane, and a very discombobulated robin standing on the ground woozily wobbling around with his mouth open.  My first instinct was to make sure the little sucker was OK (he was) but then I of course called everyone into the office to make fun of the tarded bird.

Scene 3: 

So I’m at my apartment sitting on the couch minding my own business (sensing a theme here?) when Malibu starts going crazy on the porch, jumping and slapping the screen and making all kinds of racket.  I went out to check out the crazy bugs she was harassing when I noticed that there was a BAT hanging out and harassing my cat right back!  Crazy.

Scene 4:

So I’m at work, sitting at my desk, minding my own business (I had to – sue me!) when this little rabbit guy hops up to the front windows and we enter into a staring contest of epic proportions.  I win, because of course rabbits don’t follow the rules, but he continues to chill on the front porch for a good 20 minutes.  He’s still there as we speak just boppin’ around and sunning himself.  We’ve got a colony of rabbits who live under the pool deck here, and it’s so charming to see them running around playing leap-rabbit (I swear to you they do this.  Whomever coined the phrase “leap-frog” had a serious animal identification issue) all over the property. 

After these four incidents in ONE MONTH [three in a week] I have concluded that I am so incredibly pale that animals of all varieties think I’m Snow White and as a result are stalking me for reasons unbeknownst to me. Weird. 

Leave a Reply

